Imagine Dragons “Evolve” Album Review

Evolve is American pop-rock band Imagine Dragon’s third album and features hits Believer, Thunder, and Whatever It Takes.

Everything Mainstream Consensus:


“Evolve is very much an album of its time, as it seems torn between a synth-based production and instrumentation. While clearly unfocused, the album is an Imagine Dragons album, and after two fairly messy but extremely¬†entertaining albums, Evolve sounds no different. Whether it juggles arena heavyweights Believer and Mouth Of The River or destined Top 40 hits I Don’t Know Why and Thunder, Evolve has its bright spots that overshadow its faults. Will it win Best Rock Album at next year’s Grammys, probably not, but it is packed with enough pop-rock gems and vibrant tracks to please fans and casual listeners alike. It’s clear that was Imagine Dragons and the producer’s intent, and Evolve satisfies¬†on numerous levels.”

Everything Mainstream ranks music based on a mix of artistic, commercial, and fan appeal. When the cover art of a single/album is green, the single/album is positive, while yellow means mixed response and red symbolize a negative response.

EVOLVE track by track reviews (click each track to open review):

  1. I Don’t Know Why
  2. Whatever It Takes
  3. Believer
  4. Walking The Wire
  5. Rise Up
  6. I’ll Make It Up To You
  7. Yesterday
  8. Mouth Of The River
  9. Thunder
  10. Start Over
  11. Dancing In The Dark